Leadership at Times of Crisis

Leaders today face extraordinary challenges – natural disasters, infrastructure and technology failures, emergent infectious diseases, and cyber invasions, to name just a few. These emergencies were thought at one time to be rare, one-in-a-lifetime events. They are now part of our everyday lives.

This presentation examines what constitutes excellent performance in a crisis, and what it takes to achieve it. This workshop explores the topic of leadership and what is required when the “everyday emergency” turns into a full-blown crisis. We will explore a framework for understanding the difference between a crisis and a routine emergency. Furthermore, we will thoroughly examine the role a leader plays in identifying and executing the appropriate response in each situation.

Topics Covered

  • Developing a framework for crisis leadership.The essential crisis leadership skill set.
  • A leader’s role in a crisis.
  • The difference between the routine versus crisis emergencies.
  • The different models of crisis decision making.
  • Decision fatigue: what it is and how to manage it.

Register for the webinar:

Thursday, April 27th, 2017

1:00 PM ET | 12:00 PM CT | 11:00 AM MT | 10:00 AM PT

Regina Phelps is an internationally recognized expert in the field of emergency management and continuity planning. Since 1982, she has provided consultation and educational speaking services to clients in four continents. She is founder of Emergency Management & Safety Solutions, a consulting company specializing in incident management, exercise design, and continuity and pandemic planning. Clients include many Fortune 500 companies. Ms. Phelps is a frequent top-rated speaker at well-known conferences such as the Disaster Recovery Journal, CP&M, and the World Conference on Disaster Management. She is frequently sought out for her common sense approach and clear, clean delivery of complex topics.